Skip to content

High Contrast Shot – 145

January 9, 2011

At least the snow is good for something! I think there may be more on the way mid-week.

Edited: I meant to include the following when I initially posted and then got distracted. After reading the  comments, which I thank you for, I felt I needed to add this.  When I processed this photo in PSE 9, I used the overlay blend a couple of times to increase the contrast.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 4:55 pm

    All I can say is STICK at it – Get it STICK at it – this is no Snow Job! LOL

  2. January 9, 2011 5:00 pm

    Oh, as much as I am getting cold just looking at everybody’s winter pictures (can’t wait for a change of seasons!), I really like this shot a lot.

  3. January 9, 2011 6:20 pm

    Your snow is nice and bright white, soon enough those little sticks will be bursting with buds for the spring.

  4. January 9, 2011 6:45 pm

    The stark reality of winter! Well done….

  5. January 9, 2011 7:50 pm

    Real close to a white out. Nice image!

  6. January 9, 2011 9:32 pm

    Wow this is high contrast. Very nice capture.

  7. Bobbie permalink
    January 9, 2011 11:00 pm

    This has the clean minimalist look of a Japanese ink drawing. (I live in CT also, and >sigh< they are taling about a nor'easter on Wednesday.)

  8. January 10, 2011 11:53 am

    I really like this one! Great job — I agree with Bobbie above! And I too live in New england and will be getting hit with the nor’easter too! But right now it’s blue skies and lots of wind!

  9. Tammy permalink
    January 10, 2011 3:35 pm

    LOVE this….a very artistic image!

  10. Tony permalink
    January 11, 2011 12:58 pm

    pretty image, great contrast, helps to show how winter is!

  11. January 11, 2011 5:17 pm

    You are right! Great use for snow! I mean if you have to live with it, why not make an artistic statement out of it!

  12. January 11, 2011 9:11 pm

    So simple and graphic but very effective in illustrating the winter and a snowfall.

  13. January 17, 2011 10:27 pm

    Snow so graphically reduced to what it is. A fine image and I hope it is gone by now!

Leave a Reply

