Skip to content

Overcast – 212

January 22, 2011

It seems like the only pictures I am taking right now are of snow. Maybe that’s because we have already had 5 snow storms and more snow then we normally get for a winter. This week we are looking at sub-zero temperatures and, possibly they say, another snow storm. UNCLE!  I live in Southern Connecticut and this is so not typical. Anyway that is why I am taking a lot of photos of snow. Outside that is all there is! I took this after yesterday’s storm when it was sunny behind me and overcast where I was looking. This is the “dog”/guardhouse that I photographed in Glowing. The lights are now off but it still makes for a nice photo op.

Frame made using Essentials 3.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony permalink
    January 22, 2011 9:28 am

    clouds will come and clouds will go, the same goes for the seasons. Also winter has it’s beautiful faces, you show it on your picture.

  2. January 22, 2011 9:30 am

    I like the cloudy sky with the bits of blue showing through. Even though I know you’re tired of snow, this is a lovely picture.

  3. January 22, 2011 9:52 am

    I think snowy winters can give us the most beautiful scenes to photograph. But, believe me, I know how tiresome it can be to cope with it all. This photo is lovely with the partially cloudy sky and the nice light of the little building.

  4. Tammy permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:05 am

    I love how the little light there is makes that building glow…very nice frame too!

  5. January 22, 2011 10:47 am

    For a winter picture the lighting makes the image very warm.

  6. January 22, 2011 1:03 pm

    For a winter scene you captured plenty of color, great image!

  7. January 22, 2011 4:20 pm

    Nice use of the rule of 3rds. Great shot!

  8. January 22, 2011 4:42 pm

    Wonderful composition and I really like the framing.

  9. January 22, 2011 5:43 pm

    the dog has a nice house! Not a bad life! I love the processing on this one

  10. Bobbie permalink
    January 22, 2011 8:13 pm

    The composition is excellent. I’m impressed with the exposure on the snow–it’s so easy for that to be blown out. And the sky looks like something from the Hudson River school of painting.
    PS I’m in central Connecticut and pretty desperate to find subjects that don’t include SNOW! I’m dreading the mid week storm that’s looming and worried that we’ve got two more months of snow season!

  11. Steven permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:33 pm

    You have to go with what you have, and you did a fine job here making the seen optimistic. The lighting and the sky is sweet.

    • Steven permalink
      January 22, 2011 10:34 pm

      Scene, not seen! Sorry!

  12. January 22, 2011 11:27 pm

    Love to see your snow scenes even though we have plenty of it too! Your framing really makes for a nice composition. You know the snow will be gone before too many months and then there won’t be any for months and months so make the most of it now! And you have!

  13. January 22, 2011 11:56 pm

    Great color and lighting in this one, despite all the snow. (I just realized snow is a 4 letter word). I have been feeling the same way about all the snow and cold. Just had the 3 dogs out for their last out of the night and it was 0 degrees. I’m in north Jersey, but I think you guys have gotten hit with even more snow than us and I’m in Jersey’s snow belt!

  14. January 23, 2011 11:33 pm

    From a midwesterner this is a nice New England Winter scene but I’m anxious for Spring shots!!

  15. January 24, 2011 10:58 am

    Lovely image, picture postcard perfect!

  16. January 26, 2011 10:33 pm

    The light is really beautiful in this, great sky.

Leave a Reply

